aliceandphylis

Recipes from my Grandmothers Kitchens

Celeriac – Ugly But Divine

1 Comment

Image

Celeriac

Dug up some celeriac this morning. This is the first time I’ve succeeded with Celeriac. I have tried three years in a row and failed miserably every time. They either bolted or stayed the size of golf balls. This was their last chance. You never see it for sale in the supermarket yet cheffy TV programmes and cookbooks all extol its virtue. So at long last I can try it. It doesn’t look very appetizing, but they say you never can tell a book by its cover.
I decided to google celeriac and have discovered a great place for recipes. The BBC lifestyle site has recipes from all their cooking shows since whenever.  I found 137 for celeriac! http://www.bbc.co.uk/food. This one was from the Masterchef programmes.
Celeriac and Apple RostiImage

Ingredients
4oz potatoes (pref waxy),
4oz celeriac
2oz apple
2oz butter
2 tbsp oil
salt and pepper

Method
Grate potato and squeeze out juices. Peel celeriac and grate. Peel apple and grate, Mix all together. Heat butter and 1 tbsp oil in fry pan. When sizzling, add the mixture and press down firmly. Season well and keep pressing down so strands form a rosti or pancake. Takes about 10 minutes on medium heat.
Melt remaining butter on top of rosti and turn over and cook other side till well browned. It will keep for 20 minutes on a low heat. Cut into portions and serve.  I tried to make mine too big and it fell apart, ended up looking like hash.  Next time I will use spoonfulls of mixture.

Image
Divine! I had the rosti with some bacon. They went well together. Going to try it as a mash tomorrow with my Pork Chop. They all seem to rave about it as a mash. Another way that I am going to try it is to add some grated to coleslaw. I think it will be yummy that way too, especially with red cabbage. This is a vegetable I will never go without again, so versatile, I even snacked on some raw. Would be nice with sticks of carrots.

Author: Sharon

Live in New Zealand, with three cats. I have three passions, cooking art and gardening.

One thought on “Celeriac – Ugly But Divine

  1. Yum! I haven’t had a rosti in ages. And I really love celeriac .. Will give it a go. 🙂

Leave a Reply

