aliceandphylis

Recipes from my Grandmothers Kitchens

Lemon Shortbread

1 Comment

I love Shortbread, in all its forms.  I started to bake it when  I was about 13 for my father as he loved it so much, then it was plain shortbread, now I have a tendency to add other flavours, such as this one with lemons or sometimes in summer I like to add English lavender flower seeds, or sometimes I like to add ground coffee.

Image

Lemons are very plentiful at the moment and my little lemon tree is groaning with the weight of the fruit so I am finding ways to use them in all my cooking.

Lemon Shortbread

ImageIngredients

  • 200 gm (7oz)butter,
  • ½ cup(4oz) castor sugar,
  • grated rind of 1 lemon (NB lime is nice too, or a mix.)
  • 2 cups (8oz) plain flour sifted,
  • ½ cup desiccated coconut.

Method

Spring flowers

My spring garden

Beat butter and castor sugar and rind till light, Work in flour and coconut, but not over work!  Roll out to 1cm (¼ inch) thick and cut into shapes of your fancy. 
Bake 20 minutes at 160 degrees Celsius , cool on tray.

 

Author: Sharon

Live in New Zealand, with three cats. I have three passions, cooking art and gardening.

One thought on “Lemon Shortbread

  1. Hi, this would be a great entry in March’s Sweet NZ blogging event! I hope you can contribute, there are prizes to be won this month. Cheers from Frances at Bake Club http://bakeclub.yolasite.com/index/win-healthy-food-guide-prizes-when-you-enter-march-sweet-new-zealand-

Leave a Reply

