aliceandphylis

Recipes from my Grandmothers Kitchens

Eltham Slice

Leave a comment

Eltham Slice holds a special place in my memories, it was a friend’s grandmother who introduced me to it.  When I was 10 or 11, I went to stay with a family friend on a farm near Eltham in Taranaki for the holidays.  When I went home,  I demanded my Mum make two dishes!  One was this slice,  I don’t know what it is really called but our family called it Eltham slice, we spent quite a bit of time visiting my friend’s grandmother who lived in Eltham and we watched her bake everyday and she always gave us a little package of these slices to take home, but we would stop at the overbridge, get off our bikes and sit down and scoff the lot!  It was the other recipe that make me change from just eating to thinking about how food is cooked.  It was baked apples!  I told my Mum that Carol’s Grans baked apples were much better and please could she cook them that way.  The awakening of a cook?

ImageIngredients

  • 100 grams (4oz) butter
  • 3/4 cup (6oz) sugar
  • 1tbsp golden syrup
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg beaten
  • 1 cup (4oz) flour (all-purpose)
  • 4tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 cup desicated coconut
  • 1 cup mixed fruit

Oven 160 C
Line a swallow baking tin (12×8 inches) with baking paper.  Melt butter, sugar and golden syrup and cool, add vanilla and beaten egg.  Beat well, sift flour and baking powder and stir into wet mix with the coconut and mixed fruit.   Spread into tin and bake for 25 – 30 minutes.  Stand in tin for 10 minutes.  The slices can then be coated with just icing sugar or you can add a sour cream icing as shown in photo. Slice into bars.

Sour Cream Icing.

Take 1 cup icing sugar (confectioner’s sugar), sift and add sour cream till it is the consistency you desire.  If using  spread on cake and sprinkle heavily with coconut.
Image
Enjoy!

Author: Sharon

Live in New Zealand, with three cats. I have three passions, cooking art and gardening.

Leave a Reply

